Posted in Coni Dubois

June 25, 1875 – Winsted Herald – Sketches of Satan’s Kingdom


What really interested me about this is the different names Shoukum & Chogham – Could the Chogham be our lineage or is this a Chogham we haven’t known about or a whole other line? Is it our James of Barkhamsted (was never known as a drinker thou? Was known as a religious man and a good man) What about the Shoukum thou? Is it our line? (I believe it is) We do know it to be James of Barkhamsted in this reference – We do know our James carries the Chagum name – But it is pronounces Shaw–Gum thru out history – my theory is this – the Chogham lineage and Chief of Satan’s Kingdome came from the Massachusetts/Long Island Chagum’s and when James and Molly escaped when they got married  they came to Hartford – He had family here! (Shoukum name was his at this time) I believe the Shoukum’s to be of Great James/Samuel Chagum line leading to our James of Barkhamsted and the Chagums to be of the Pequot Chagum’s of Massachusetts/Long Island – and are brother’s  (I also believe Shoukum and Chagum’s both descend from Checoamaug/Shoakecum who was possibly son of Mayawetinnemin/Tackapousha)
I have been working on for several months now – more and more I dig into this I believe we have 2 lines mixed up – but of the same family~

Donated by Sheryl Robinson
Donated by Sheryl Robinson

Author:

I’ve been a family Genealogist/Native American Researcher for over 30+ years and have traced over 65,000+ people for my research - My main area of research is in MI, IN, CT, NY, RI, PA, MA, VA, VT, NJ, OH, KY, Block Island & Long Island areas - dealing with many of the colonial people & tribes in these locations.

2 thoughts on “June 25, 1875 – Winsted Herald – Sketches of Satan’s Kingdom

  1. What really interested me about this is the different names – Shoukum and Chogham – Could the Chogham be our lineage or is this a Chogham we haven’t known about or a whole other line? Is it our James of Barkhamsted (was never known as a drinker thou?) What about the Shoukum thou? Is it our line? We do know it to be James of Barkhamsted in this reference – We do know our James carries the Chagum name – But it is pronounces Shaw–Gum thou out history – my theory is this is the true Chogham lineage that came from the Massachusetts Chagum’s and when James and Molly escaped when they got married this could explain why they came to Hartford He had family here! (Shoukum name was him at this time) I believe the Shoukums to be of Great James line leading to our James of Barkhamsted and the Chagums to be of the Pequot Chagum’s of Massachusetts (Shoukum and Chagum’s both descend/SONS of Checoamaug/Shoakecum son of Quarapin/Checkachoggin who was son of Mayawetinnemin/Tackapousha) This has been what I have been working on for several months now – more and more I did into this I believe we have 2 lines mixed up – but of the same family~ A New Mystery!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.